Coco Banana Bread

Is it too sentimental of me to dedicate this post to someone? Because I really want to. Soooo I think I will.

This post is dedicated to Katherine Alexis Brooker.

There. I did what I wanted to do. A dedication is appropriate for a few reasons:

  • Other than my mom (who, let’s be real, HAD to say my food tasted good), Katy was my first true fan.
  • Katy, as my university housemate, tested nearly everything I ever tried to bake.
  • Katy gave suggestions on how things I baked could taste even better.
  • Katy sympathised with me when I lost all my banana bread notes during the move out of Canada.
  • Katy shared new banana bread recipes with me when she was in America and I was in England. She wanted to make things better.

Those five reasons, coupled with a lot of testing, and reading, and testing some more, have resulted in this: a whole new concept. Its taken YEARS to achieve. I think it’s good. And its sort of good for you. Well, let’s just say it’s not bad. And, well, that’s going to need to be good enough for now because the next couple weeks will see a bombardment of treats like you wont believe. Consider this an easing into mayhem.

Coco Banana Bread

Ripe BananasBBread Ingredients

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/ 177 degrees C. Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil. Dust greased pan with flour.

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup oat flour*

1/2 cup jumbo oats

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

2 heaping tablespoons flaxmeal

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt

100g bar of dark chocolate**

3 very ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs, beaten

6 tablespoons melted coconut oil

1tsp vanilla

1/4 cup plain coconut milk yogurt

Method

  1. Measure out dry ingredients + chocolate BBread dry ingredients
  2. Measure out wet ingredients + brown sugar BBread wet
  3. Pour wet into the dry. Fold until flour is thoroughly moistened. BBread Fold Wet and Dry
  4. Pour into prepared panBBread pan
  5. Bake for 40-45 mins, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. BBread Loaf

* Oat flour is literally ground up oats – if you have a food processor or blender and some oats, you’re good to go.

** You don’t have to use a bar – I like how the bar’s squares get all melty in the bread. Chocolate chips (about a cup) work too!

2 thoughts on “Coco Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

