Cinnamon Roll Cake

Pinterest is such a good thing. It literally is a virtual pinboard of items found and loved, which you want to keep. I have boards on just about everything. Even a board devoted to specific types of foods. I came across a recipe for “cinnamon roll cake” on pinterest. I found this when I was going through an afternoon tea phase, and thought this would be a perfect sweet treat to share with friends to break up a long afternoon of law exam revision.

It was a hit then, and continues to be a hit now. On the Friday after Christmas, my cousin had me, my parents, and sisters over for breakfast, along with her own parents and brother, in the home she shares with her husband and darling baby daughter. I knew it was going to be such a lovely meal, and was adamant on contributing something. I decided to go the sweet route, and brought along this tasty cinnamon roll cake that has maple frosting. It was a hit with my cousin Daniel – good enough a recipe for me!

What’s perfect about this recipe is that it is easy and foolproof. Actual cinnamon rolls can be time consuming and messy. And, I’m not a fan of kneading at all. This cake is simple, cinnamony, and good, without the roll. Give it a go!

*Adapted from a recipe found on The Country Cook

Ingredients

Cake:

3 cps flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 cp sugar

4 tsp of baking powder

2 eggs

2tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cps milk

1 stick butter, melted (113 grams)

Cinnamon roll cake ingredients

Cinnamon filling:

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (226 grams)

1 cp packed brown sugar

2tbsp flour

1tbsp ground cinnamon

DSCN2349

Glaze

2cps powdered sugar

2tbsp milk

3 tbsp maple syrup

1tsp vanilla extract

Glaze ingredients

Glaze

Method

  1. Spray a 13x9inch pan with non-stick spray, preheat oven to 350 degrees F/ 177 degrees C
  2. Combine all cake ingredients except melted butter without overmixing
  3. Slowly add melted butter. Continue to be careful not to overmix
  4. Spread batter into baking dish
  5. Combine all the filling ingredients in a small bowl, then drop by rounded spoonful on top of the cake batter
  6. Swirl the filling drops into the batterSwirl the filling around the cake
  7. Bake cake for 35 mins, or until a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean

    My reflection in the oven window as I watch it bake, too hungry to wait...

    My reflection in the oven window as I watch it bake, too hungry to wait…

  8. Prepare glaze by mixing the sugar, milk, sugar and vanilla together, and have ready to drizzle over the piping hot cake DSCN2366

It will be sooo delicious. Serve warm. If you only like the best of things, only serve it warm.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Cake

Leave a Reply

